Whether you have decided to go vegan because of health benefits or because you care for the animals and the environment, you want to know if that vape juice that you are vaping is vegan friendly. Well, sit back grab yourself a cup of coffee with almond milk of course and read on.
As a vegan, you want to know exactly what is in everything especially when it comes to the e-juice of your vape.
Let me present you with the facts and you can decide for yourself:
1. When it comes to the process of creating e-liquids no animal parts are used.
2. The natural flavoured e-juices like the fruit flavours are obtained from fruits, plants, and vegetables
3. If you are worried about the sweeter flavours like cookies and cream, don’t! They are usually made from chemicals to create that specific flavour. So no, you are not vaping eggs or milk!
4. The base of e-juices are made from VG and PG. VG that is vegetable Glycerine is made from plant oils and is vegan friendly. PG that is Propylene Glycol is made from petroleum and this depends on how you look at it as a vegan.
5. E-liquids also may contain distilled water that is of course safe for our vegans out there.
6. If you choose to have nicotine in your e-liquid don’t worry this addictive substance is found in plants. So again, it is safe for the vegans.
7. But unfortunately there might be a chance that the artificial flavourings were tested on animals. But you can always reach out to the manufacturer to express your concern. This will make you feel a whole lot better and calmer.
What are the benefits of vaping vegan e-liquids?
Eliminate bad odor
Because the e-juice is made from plant-based ingredients the smell is going to be fresh and not harsh like other chemicals that are added or worse cigarette smoke.
Saves you money
Vegan e-liquids are going to save you more money than compared to when you are smoking traditional cigarettes. You can also buy them online which makes it much easier than driving to the store to pick up a pack of cigarettes.
No extra accessories needed
Yes, with vaping you get accessories for your vaporizer but in this case, I’m referring to smoking accessories like ashtrays. There will be no need for you to have an ashtray laying around for someone to complain about the smell. You also don’t have the risk of starting a fire with your vaporizer like you do with a cigarette.
It improves your health
You are not getting that tar-based tobacco like you would when smoking. This means that it is much healthier for your lungs. Your workouts will also be easier with better breathability. Now you can live an even healthier vegan life.
Different flavours to choose from
You can choose from sweet to savoury and even tobacco flavours and you are not just limited to a few flavours depending on the brand like cigarettes.
Here are some extra facts that you can have a look at:
Are the colourings of E-liquid Vegan?
You might think that every e-juice is vegan-friendly but not necessarily. You will need to make sure and contact the manufacturer. The following might make you a little sick to the stomach. The red colouring that is added to some e-liquids is derived from ground-up beetles. It is the body of the Cochina beetle that is dried and then boiled again and then creates this Red#4 dye.
According to vegan.com, “Red #4 may also appear on the label as cochineal extract, crimson lake, natural red 4 and E120.”
If you are a vegan and ground-up beetles make you sick to the stomach you will want to avoid this.
Is Propylene Glycol Vegan?
Is Propylene Glycol, that forms part of the e-liquids base always vegan?
Propylene glycol is a petroleum derivative., petroleum is a fossil fuel. What does this mean? It means it was created, through heat, time, and pressure, from the fossilized remains primarily of plants. Depending on your beliefs and how you classify veganism to be, this might affect you. But don’t worry you can always get 100 percent vegetable glycerine as your base for your e-liquid.
Is Vegetable Glycerine (VG) Vegan?
Well, Vegetable glycerine is made by pressing vegetable oil at a specific temperature and then adding some water to it. The fatty acids in the oils are then absorbed by the water and then create a thick syrup consistency.
Another way to make this glycerine is to use animal fats, the animal fats are then put through a process of boiling and cooling and an animal-based glycerine is then created. But this type is mostly used in body care products such as lotions and soaps.
Don’t worry you can easily tell them apart and the type that is used in your e-juice is vegetable glycerine that is safe for vegans.
When it comes to e-liquids the majority of the ingredients are vegan friendly, but ingredients like artificial flavourings might be tested out on animals. So, depending on for what reason you are vegan and if the part of them testing it out on animals concerns you, you can always contact the supplier or make yourself your own e-liquid.
You can also choose e-juices that are 100 percent VG instead of a VG/PG mix, you can also choose a flavouring that is natural instead of artificial. There you go now you are sorted! If you are a vegan and worrying about what is in your e-juice worry no more there are ways you can make sure that everything the e-juice contains is 100 percent vegan friendly.
Hope you guys found this article interesting and helpful. What are your beliefs when it comes to veganism and what do you see as right and wrong? Let us know.